What is a QCF course?
Posted by on 12 November 2015 03:46 PM

QCF courses are set out in units. Each unit carries a level and a number of credits (each credit as a rough guide equals around 10 hours learning).

Qualification and Credit Framework (QCF) replaced National Qualifications Framework (NQF) in 2010, some Awarding Bodies still use NQF.

Units build into qualifications and are transferable to other qualifications. For example if you complete a level 2 qualification and move onto level 3 some of the units in that subject area will be transferable, this is referred to as Accredited Prior Learning (APL) or Recognised Prior Learning.

Learners can complete units of credit towards Awards, Certificate and Diploma.  Therefore be aware that not everything labelled as QCF is a full qualification.  This will be recognisable from the title of the course (Award, Certificate, Diploma).

(1 vote(s))
Not helpful

Comments (0)